Belgians, Dutch, Austrians halt United kingdom flights, fearing variant | Planet

BERLIN (AP) — The Netherlands, Belgium and Austria on Sunday banned flights from the U.K. and Germany thought of restricting these kinds of flights to make absolutely sure that a new strain of coronavirus sweeping across southern England does not build a potent foothold on the continent.

The Netherlands banned flights from the U.K. for at minimum the rest of the calendar year while Belgium issued a flight ban for 24 hours starting at midnight and also halted prepare links to Britain, including the Eurostar. German officials had been taking into consideration “serious options” regarding incoming flights from the U.K., but have not nevertheless taken motion.

Austria said it would also halt flights from the U.K. but there had been no instant facts on the timing of the ban, the Austrian news company APA documented. The Czech Republic, meanwhile, imposed stricter quarantine measures from people arriving from the U.K.

The 5 EU governments say their response will come in response to tougher actions imposed Saturday in London and surrounding areas by British Prime Minister Boris Johnson. He immediately place all those locations into a new Tier 4 stage of constraints, stating that a fast-shifting new variant of the virus that is 70% extra transmissible than current strains appears to be driving the immediate unfold of new bacterial infections in London and southern England.

“There’s no proof to counsel it is additional lethal or causes extra extreme illness,” Johnson reported, or that vaccines will be less efficient versus it.